William McDade, MD, PhD

William McDade, MD, PhD is the Chief Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Officer for the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. He has been Chief Academic Officer/EVP for the Ochsner Health System, Professor and Deputy Provost at the University of Chicago, and Associate Dean at the Pritzker School of Medicine. Dr. McDade is a current executive committee member of the Joint Commission Board and has served on boards for the AMA, NBME, and ACGME. He has been a President and Board Chair of local and state medical societies in Illinois and Chair of the National Medical Association’s Anesthesiology Section and the American Medical Association’s Council on Medical Education.  Bill is a board-certified Anesthesiologist having graduated from the Pritzker School of Medicine, earning a PhD in Biophysics and Theoretical Biology. He completed his internship in internal medicine at University of Chicago and residency at the Massachusetts General Hospital.

Elizabeth Tetteh, MD

Elizabeth Tetteh, MD was born to a father from Ghana and mother from Mississippi, and raised outside of Chicago in Wheaton. She received a bioengineering degree from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and Doctorate of Medicine from the University of Illinois at Chicago. She completed her intern year in general surgery at Rush University Medical Center. Her anesthesia training was completed at John H Stroger Hospital of Cook County followed by a critical care fellowship Barnes Jewish Hospital- Washington University. She returned to the Chicago area to work at Loyola University Medical Center (LUMC) in Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Tetteh’s involvement includes being Chair of the CLABSI committee at LUMC, clerkship director of the ICU rotation, board member for the National Board for Respiratory Care, and manuscript reviewer for CHEST. She continues to stay active submissions to the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) and Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM). This past year she joined the many frontline workers and cared for COVID ICU patients.

Audrey Oware, MD

Audrey Oware, MD completed medical school and residency at The University of Chicago, also serving as chief resident. She went on to complete her Cardiovascular and Thoracic Anesthesia Fellowship at The Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania where she was awarded the Joel A. Kaplan Award, for Outstanding Performance by a Fellow in Adult Cardiovascular Thoracic Anesthesia. She is board certified in Anesthesiology and also in Advanced Preoperative Transesophageal Echocardiography. 

She was formerly an Assistant Professor at the University of Chicago and currently is practicing at Edward Hospital. She has been a voice for the ISA, championing causes such as physician-led care and patient-centered legislation. She has advocated for ISA during Lobby Day in Springfield, IL and during local meetings with Senators and House of Representative members. She has also attended the 2019 Congressional Black Caucus meetings in Chicago on behalf of the ISA. Dr. Oware currently serves as the Chair for the ISA Ad Hoc Committee on Diversity and Inclusion.

Peggy Wheeler, MD

Peggy Wheeler, MD is the James M. Feld Professor of Anesthesiology at the University of Illinois at Chicago. She is a graduate of the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) for her undergraduate studies, medical school, residency, and fellowship. At UIC, Dr. Wheeler provides neuroanesthesia care for complicated neurosurgical cases.  She serves as the Resident Associate Program Director and the Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship Director. In addition, Dr. Wheeler also provides care for our veterans at the Jesse Brown VA Medical Center. Dr. Wheeler serves on Board of Directors at the Society for Neuroscience in Anesthesiology and Critical Care. She also is the inaugural Illinois Society of Anesthesiologists Wellness Committee Chair.

Dr. Wheeler embraces curiosity, innovation and problem-solving, while at the same time, honoring humanity – from self to the world.